• About Quota

    Bookmark and Share

    My daily writing--emails, journal entries, marginalia, more emails, blog posts, and tweets--shapes me as a writer, helping and hindering the big stuff I'm trying to accomplish. Every word counts.

    My name is James Black. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Friend and/or follow me if you like.

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Categories

  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recent Comments

    Elisse on The First Year of Grief Is as…
    The First Year of Gr… on Postmortem
    The First Year of Gr… on A Eulogy for My Father
    The First Year of Gr… on Keep on Truckin’
  • wordpress stats plugin

Revised Strategy

As you may have noticed, I haven’t set a specific quota for my daily writing. The idea of a quota is enough, and is serving me well. I need to make sure I do things every day that move my writing forward. While on retreat, it was important to focus on quantity and on a specific project. Since arriving home a week ago, I’ve needed to alter my strategy.

Work has kept me busy with various projects that, although exciting, have me feeling fragmented. Quite a bit of energy goes to writing emails, revising copy for promotional materials, etc. For the writing I choose to do, I do whatever I can. Blogging has helped a lot. Even though some would advise me not to waste time on it, that it’s taking time away from “real” projects, blogging has made me more productive. I enjoy doing it, so instead of sitting around thinking I should probably get to writing, I write something, knowing that at least a few people will read it. Also, the topics I’m writing about here have been on my mind for years, so I consider my blog posts to be quite real, even if they’re early drafts. And the increased output seems to help me generate ideas, to the benefit of my other real projects, and new ones.

To give you some specifics, beyond the work-related writing and blogging, my focus is on finishing up some projects that have been almost-finished for too long. It’s time to show some guts and send them out. I have revised two pieces (one a short-short story; the other, an essay that’s been in the works for almost two years). I submitted them for publication, so we’ll see what happens. I have few more that I’ll nudge out of the nest in the next few weeks.

I’ve been writing so much lately that I’m concerned I might be developing repetitive stress injury (RSI). On Friday evening, I noticed some minor swelling in my right (ha–at first, I wrote “write”) elbow. I’ve kept myself informed about RSI, but it’s time to brush up and make sure I prevent injury.

What about you? Have you been writing? Anything you want to write but haven’t had time? Is something distracting you? Do you have swelling in your elbow?

Leave a Reply

