• About Quota

    Bookmark and Share

    My daily writing--emails, journal entries, marginalia, more emails, blog posts, and tweets--shapes me as a writer, helping and hindering the big stuff I'm trying to accomplish. Every word counts.

    My name is James Black. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Friend and/or follow me if you like.

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • Categories

  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recent Comments

    Elisse on The First Year of Grief Is as…
    The First Year of Gr… on Postmortem
    The First Year of Gr… on A Eulogy for My Father
    The First Year of Gr… on Keep on Truckin’
  • wordpress stats plugin

A Bunch of Craft

What I’m learning from all I’ve been reading about craft lately is that I have developed good sense about making stories. I’m pretty good at creating pieces that make a complete picture. The tricky part is taking the pieces apart and handing them out in an order that will keep the reader curious enough to keep snapping pieces into place.

The craft readings have helped me think more clearly about other aspects of my process that I do sort of well with. Atchity says the goal should not be to avoid anxiety but, rather, to transform it into productive energy. That is the challenge of my life, and I mean that quite seriously. I experienced my first panic attack in first grade. My parents rushed me to the hospital in the middle of the night because I woke up screaming due to stomach pain. While waiting for the E/R doc to run tests, the pain subsided. No cause for the pain was found. That scenario played out four times. In fifth grade, the symptoms became more in line with what I would experience for decades: shallow, rushing breath; rapid heart rate.

Generative writing has calmed the symptoms. Writing to fulfill an assignment exacerbates the symptoms. It’s like the goal of a coherently written, publishable piece of writing has been right in the room with me almost every day of my life. If I can see it and simply know it’s there, I feel good. It’s good to have a roommate, not to be alone.

Moving close to it makes me anxious, as when confronting it about taking its dishes to the kitchen or paying up the last three months of cable bills. So, most of the time I’ve stayed away from it, safe but not satisfied, and definitely harboring resentment.

I don’t want a dramatic confrontation about what it owes me, just an open discussion about how we can manage our relationship from here on out. Not a fresh start so much as a daily practice of asking it, the roommate, the goal? How was your day. And, of course, not feeling anxious or presumptous for expecting an answer.

Leave a Reply

