• About Quota

    Bookmark and Share

    My daily writing--emails, journal entries, marginalia, more emails, blog posts, and tweets--shapes me as a writer, helping and hindering the big stuff I'm trying to accomplish. Every word counts.

    My name is James Black. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Friend and/or follow me if you like.

  • Recent Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Categories

  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recent Comments

    Elisse on The First Year of Grief Is as…
    The First Year of Gr… on Postmortem
    The First Year of Gr… on A Eulogy for My Father
    The First Year of Gr… on Keep on Truckin’
  • wordpress stats plugin

Rock me like a hurricane. Or, better yet, don’t.

As Hurricane Irene weakens, disappointment spreads through social media that the storm was not more powerful and destructive. These same folks are accusing journalists and government officials of hyping the storm to win high ratings and improve their reputations.

I’m guessing the accusers do not know the few people who were killed by Irene. Apparently they haven’t even lost power, since they are able to post their whinings on Twitter and Facebook. To them, “Better safe than sorry” is probably just a tired cliché that leaves them “bored.” They want to be entertained. If the storm doesn’t do it, they’ll complain about the ineffectiveness of government and nature.

Less than a week ago, after an unusually strong earthquake rumbled through the eastern United States, the response was similar. The consensus is that it didn’t really do anything. No major damage occurred in highly populated areas, and soon a photo of  “devastation” went viral: a set of white lawn chairs, one of which is lying on its side. Worth a giggle to many, perhaps, but probably not to the people who weren’t so lucky, whose chimneys came apart or whose windshields were smashed by falling debris.

Jokes are fine, but I’m disappointed by how many citizens of the world seem incapable of realizing that things happen beyond their apartments or city blocks. If damage doesn’t happen to them or to people they know, they believe an event was “overhyped,” and they search for some dastardly reason their fun was spoiled. They feel no gratitude that, had a worse-case scenario happened, they wouldn’t have been left to wave for from their rooftops and get blamed for not having the resources to save themselves.

In case it does any good, let me take this opportunity to say to The Universe that I would be happy to feel underwhelmed by any potential disasters that may be in store for my region and/or life. Please go to great lengths to underwhelm me. And thanks, Dear Universe, for taking time to read my blog.

2 Responses

  1. Is it ‘here here’ or ‘hear, hear’? Anyway, yes yes and yes to you. Who complains about not being killed by a natural disaster???? and can you really overhype a 1000 km square whirling storm visible from space?
    I think I’m going to have to put my money where my mouth is and move somewhere less privileged, because this kind of thing has literally made shake with rage lately.
    You get the trophy, crown and cake for actually stopping to articulate just what it is about some of our western-world neighbours that has been pissing me off so very very much. I’ve just mostly been wandering around feeling like giving folks a shake for being stupid dicks. Yep.

    • I appreciate your comment. I wonder if some who dismissed the storm’s power feel differently given that as of Wednesday, about a million households were still without electricity. Assuming they read the news.

Leave a Reply

