• About Quota

    Bookmark and Share

    My daily writing--emails, journal entries, marginalia, more emails, blog posts, and tweets--shapes me as a writer, helping and hindering the big stuff I'm trying to accomplish. Every word counts.

    My name is James Black. I'm on Facebook and Twitter. Friend and/or follow me if you like.

  • Recent Tweets

  • Categories

  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recent Comments

    Elisse on The First Year of Grief Is as…
    The First Year of Gr… on Postmortem
    The First Year of Gr… on A Eulogy for My Father
    The First Year of Gr… on Keep on Truckin’
  • wordpress stats plugin

16 Things: No One Recognized the Back of My Head

I wrote this list when the meme made the rounds on Facebook. Since I didn’t post it then, I’m doing it now.

___________________________________

Write 16 random things about yourself that people probably don’t know.

  1. I got my driver’s license nine months after I turned 16; I was nervous about driving and wanted to take lessons first.
  2. As a kid, I participated in a gymnastics program but had to quit in second grade because the program for boys ended there. They were afraid learning to perform on uneven bars would make me gay. 😉
  3. Although I was seven years old when Star Wars was released, I didn’t see it until I was in my 20s.
  4. In high school, I studied art at the Kansas City Art Institute for three semesters.
  5. My first crush was on Aquaman. Or the Six Million Dollar Man. Either way: perhaps you notice a pattern.
  6. In elementary school, I earned ribbons in jump rope and hula hoop competitions on field day.
  7. I saw a psychologist for the first time in fifth grade, and took my first IQ test the same year.
  8. I appeared in a print ad for Wal-Mart. I was The Customer, but The Cashier was the focus, and no one recognized the back of my head.
  9. I graduated from a community college. Four semesters took me six years at two different schools.
  10. I have three piercings and no tattoos.
  11. I would love to learn sign language and Yiddish.
  12. The last time I performed in a theatrical production, I played a crocodile.
  13. The household chore I hate most is dusting.
  14. One of my less impossible dreams is to write lyrics with various musicians. Notice the preposition is “with,” not “for.” And I want to sing again. Not just in my car.
  15. I managed a frame shop for three years.
  16. My nickname within my family is Tiger. No one has been able to give me the definitive reason, but I know it’s not due to an interest in golf. I’m the Original Tiger (OT).

Leave a comment